PDA

View Full Version : Building an AMD 4800+ overclocked game/crunching machine

Steve Lux
04-09-2006, 02:03 PM
Background: I want a second crunching machine, my son wants a super game machine. We think both of us can have it "our" way, but neither of us can justify the entire expense. The computer, when finished, will be for my son, but when he's not using it it will be Boinc crunching for me.

We intend to buy and assemble components and software for the purpose of overclocking this unit to reach near maximum capacity. I have been messing with computers since 1972 when I first got to play with a TTY terminal in the Franklin High School library that was linked to a bank in Portland, Oregon (USA). I'm not exactly unfamiliar with computers, but I have never done a total build, nor have I ever overclocked a system. My son has been messing with computers since he was an infant, sitting on my lap as I worked or played computer games. He has no experience building systems or overclocking either. We thought this would be a good project for the two of us to do together.

I have decided on the processor and ram, the remainder of the following hardware and software is still up for debate:

Processor: AMD 64 X2 4800+ dual core. Its native speed is 2.4 Ghz but I think it could be overclocked to 2.9Ghz and possibly 3.0Ghz with the right ram, cooling capacity and voltage control. Price from NewEgg is $630.00.

Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLi Premium. It's an ATX form board that seems to be popular for AMD 64 X2 overclocking. One of my concerns here is the overclocking effects on the motherboard components. I don't know if there is a motherboard functional speed limit. I may have to look at higher speed 939 pin systems to see what is available. This board is available from NewEgg for $169.00.

Ram: Corsair 2GB (2ea 1GB sticks) PC4000 DDR DIMM memory kit. Again from NewEgg for $193.00.