PDA

View Full Version : Elementary questions about Virtual PC

Beerknurd
09-03-2006, 04:42 AM
I want to install virtual PC so I can run another instance of Dimes and a few other processor free projects. Is it worth installing? Does the virtual PC software use processor resources running idle? Please Help!!!

Brucifer
09-03-2006, 04:48 AM
did you ever hear that expression about "there ain't no free lunch?" :)

Beerknurd
09-03-2006, 04:58 AM
Unfourtunately... :lol:

Installing Windows, it is using about 30 percent... :-( I don't know if I can spare that just to run Dimes... I have never used it before... I will finish the install and play with it for a while.

Beerknurd
09-03-2006, 05:05 AM
Ok, I got it down to about 20 percent by telling it to let the host machine have processor priority.

By the way, installing Windows sucks..... :)

Beerknurd
09-03-2006, 05:58 AM
Alright, that was a waste of 2 hours... I got Windows Pro installed, and it couldn't find my network connection. I did some research, and it seems that USB devices won't work on Virtual PC, or if it does I couldn't figure it out. I have USB adapters for my my wireless internet access. The virtual computer couldn't see the usb adapter. I should really invest in some wireless cards. I guess I should have done the research before I spent the time on it... Oh well... That's 2 hours I will never get back. I guess you live and learn.

Empty_5oul
09-03-2006, 12:03 PM
i cant say i tried USB when i had virtual pc installed. i had to delete it cause it was taking up to much space for something i hardly ever used.

I found it useful for messing with settings as if it got screwed up it didnt matter i could just delete it all.

NVM
09-03-2006, 12:40 PM