PDA

View Full Version : A Fated Flight

Robert P. Herbst
08-31-2007, 12:06 PM
In as much as there was an Airplane joke posted here, I thought you might enjoy an absolutely true story.

A FATED FLIGHT
Written August 3, 2005 Non Fiction 840 Words
Copyright © 2005 Robert P. Herbst. All rights reserved.

by

Robert P. Herbst

In 1965, I took my first wife to the Virgin Islands. I was interested in buying a home on one of the islands. Actually, I had been working for several years without a vacation and going to the Virgin Islands was one way to be sure there was no way I could be called back into the office, no matter how bad things got there.
We stopped at St. Croix first and spent some time just walking around. Unfortunately, this was at the same time when the natives of the Island were machine gunning tourists on the local golf course. The tension was so heavy, there was an oppressive feeling we got when walking the streets at night. There was an uneasy silence and it was almost loud enough to hear.
After exploring all the opportunities on St. Croix, we decided to see what St. Thomas (The Second Largest of the Three Islands) was all about. To get from one island to another, there was a flying boat service. The plane was a World War 2 military surplus PBY. We bought our tickets, boarded the cramped plane and assumed our positions in the crowded interior.
There were only two, rather austere seats on either side of the crowded interior of the plane. The seats were the small and uncomfortable military surplus type, but it wasn’t going to be a very long ride, maybe fifteen or twenty minutes in the air at the most.
The pilot came back to address us as we waited for take off. He told us the plane leaked a bit and once in the water, we had only fifteen minutes to get to takeoff position and become airborne, — or the plane would sink beneath us.