PDA

View Full Version : Project and help required

drezha
10-24-2007, 09:27 AM
Hi guys.

I'm looking for a project that will run on a 533Mhz CPU (with little to no CPU enhancements like SSE) with 376Mb RAM installed. And it cant be to heavy RAM wise as the PC will be running my file and webserver.

It'll be running Ubuntu 7.10 (I'm tempted by the server version but I'll a GUI on it at times to run some apps I cant on Windows). Most of the time it'll be left at run level 2 (so just a command line)

Now I've never run anything like this, I've all done it on GUI before. If I'm in run level 2, as I understand it, its single user? Well that make it root? If I start a GUI crunching app, will it die if I move to r2?

NeoGen
10-24-2007, 09:45 AM
I have no knowledge about Linux, but I believe there might be a Dnet binary that suits your needs. They got lots of platforms/OSes covered. As far as I've tried the Dnet app (on Windows), it's very light on resources, and if you don't have net connection it can generate it's own random RC5 keys to test, and later upload.

AMDave
10-24-2007, 10:30 AM
Actually it is important to note that 'all run levels are not the same'.
That has caught me out a beauty more than once before.
It depends on whose version (which *nix OS) you are running as to which run levels you are looking at:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Runlevel

Any of the following have linux command line versions AND will run for long periods of time without attention:
BOINC (depending on project choice),
eOn,
Dimes,
Riesel LLR,
PSP Proth,
Dnet OGR,
Dnet RC5-72,
FaH

There are others I'd 'like' to add to that list, but the truth is they can require babysitting unless you can wrap some scripts around them to do the babysitting for you.

The lowest impact of those would be eOn and Dimes.
The rest are more CPU intensive.

Dimes needs Java 1.4.2 and above and can grab about 32MB+ RAM depending on the wu packet at the time.