Once You Know, You Newegg
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Threadripper 1000 series not THAT affected by Dual Channel?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NTSC
    Posts
    440

    Threadripper 1000 series not THAT affected by Dual Channel?

    so i'm not sure there's a HUGE difference with dual channel vs quad channel with Threadripper (1950X). difference, yes, seemingly, but not that huge...

    Code:
    03/01/2019  0:016:00:54:03  135,385  128
    02/28/2019  0:015:18:53:17  133,757  128
    02/27/2019  0:015:19:09:27  132,921  128 
    02/26/2019  0:015:03:57:05  121,222  117 
    02/25/2019  0:016:03:13:15  124,831  120 
    02/24/2019  0:016:00:53:07  119,034  115 
    02/23/2019  0:009:16:57:20  56,440    62 
    02/22/2019  0:007:01:25:18  34,161    34
    (2/23 was when i got it) 2/26 was the day i switched from DC to QC. and i have another half day or two to run for good measure (had a fair bit of down time between reboots and for some other reason). but it wasn't the half or other greatly reduced amount i was expecting.

    one thing holding me back is that i'm running 16 instances because i ran out of memory at 32 instances of WCG so that's ONE thing making this comparison a bit lopsided, but i got tired of trying to browse the internet on 8GB shared with 16 WCG units. also having issues cooling it at max all core turbo speeds, so i'm locking it to 3.4ghz to keep at least SOMETHING more consistent.

    anyone else noticed anything similar? or any projects that are MORE affected by Quad Channel's extra BW?

    edit: added today's (2/28) points
    edit2: added the next day's points
    Last edited by plonk420; 03-06-2019 at 04:58 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Leiden, the Netherlands
    Posts
    3,450
    I guess I lack the money to be able to provide you with an answer.
    Theoretically however: Always try to have 4GB per thread, when running BOINC.
    In the case of a threadripper system -pun intended- that might be an expensive rule-of-thumb though: "I won the lottery, I just bought a 2990WX and now I need to buy 128GB of RAM -where my mobo seems to think 64 GB is the limit- and it's frigging expensive!"

    P.S. Just as there is overclocking, there is also overRAMming. I have at present an Intel -hush- J5005 system that runs on 16GB -double the amount as officially supported, according to Intel. There is a German site that has success running the board on 32GB even....So I hope that using 32GB ECC sticks on a Threadripper board will provide the needed 128GB.
    Last edited by Dirk Broer; 03-01-2019 at 01:29 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NTSC
    Posts
    440
    WCG only uses 250-600MB RAM/thread, tho. so the largest project will be 19.2GB (i have 2 x 8GB arriving in the mail and am going to try to run it in an unholy 2 x 8GB + 2 x 4GB configuration, heh... til i can afford another 2 x 8GB if i feel the need). thankfully i think my main project i'm interested in (cancer-related) is also a 250MB/thread project.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Leiden, the Netherlands
    Posts
    3,450
    There are projects (most of them using vbox) that can take 4 to 6GB per thread....GPUGrid complains that the 8GB I have in a system is not enough to run it...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NTSC
    Posts
    440
    so it looks like MIP in spite of saying it needs 600MB RAM per unit, only needs about 65 or so give or take, so that's a pleasant surprise

    ...which is nice as the 24GB FrankenRAM setup is working well, too. 2 x 8GB + 2 x 4GB. even is giving more memory bandwidth compared to the 2 x 4GB CL15 + 2 x 4GB CL16 Ballistix forced to CL15. 58GB/sec vs 71GB/sec and 108 vs 80 ns latency on the RAM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Leiden, the Netherlands
    Posts
    3,450
    Quote Originally Posted by plonk420 View Post
    so it looks like MIP in spite of saying it needs 600MB RAM per unit, only needs about 65 or so give or take, so that's a pleasant surprise

    ...which is nice as the 24GB FrankenRAM setup is working well, too. 2 x 8GB + 2 x 4GB. even is giving more memory bandwidth compared to the 2 x 4GB CL15 + 2 x 4GB CL16 Ballistix forced to CL15. 58GB/sec vs 71GB/sec and 108 vs 80 ns latency on the RAM
    Looks like CL15 and CL16 isn't the only parameter. What's the speed of your various DDR4 RAM sticks? Must be a much faster speed that your 'FrankenRAM' runs now, or is it just the quad channel ability that does it?.
    Last edited by Dirk Broer; 03-07-2019 at 11:36 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •