Thread: Some general information Please

Question Some general information Please

1) I started one Climate change unit in September and completed it in January, and have no indication on BOINC of credit from BBC, is that normal?

2) I am new to this team concept. Do teams have access to units that single users don't?

Work units from both sources seem irregular at best, in fact I started Spinhenge because SETI wasn't sending any work units, I hadn't recieved any new units for about a month. Units started trickling in but then I couldn't upload my results. (from about May 1st to June 1st) Seti units have picked up and spinhenge have dropped off inthe past week.

On my own to date, I have completed over 7.7k Credits on Seti@home and over 6.1k on Spinhenge@home sense April 10th of this year. How many credits should I have recieved from the BBC Climate change work unit?

3) How are credits related to work units?

Hello Ghost556,

Welcome to the Team.

1. Climate has "hugh" wu's. Did you finish it before the Due Date??

2. Everyone draws from the same pool of wu's. You have to check the project home page "Message Board" for updates on wu's issues. Most projects will post if their wu server is having a problem (usually after a user posts about a wu problem... ...)

3. How credits are awarded differs in a couple of ways. It is usually based on how much time (normally displayed in seconds) it takes to "crunch" (basic idea) the wu, and the points per 1,000 seconds of "crunches" differs from project to project.

You might get a more in depth answer from someone else later. Look around the 'Board', and have fun!!

Bender

EDIT: I got up to let the dogs out, answered your post, went back to bed, got up again to edit out mistakes......now I have to go to werk...
    Last edited by Bender10; 06-08-2007 at 09:38 AM. Reason: Too early in the AM...
    Logic is the art of being wrong with confidence.

Work units